UUAA Jackson Social Welfare Fund Committee 2017 Annual Report

This report covers the activities of the UUAA Jackson Social Welfare Fund Committee ("Committee") for the last funding cycle, with the year ending 31 May 2017 and includes information about our 2016 decisions.

<u>The Fund and the Committee's Mission</u>: The Committee has implemented the 1955 bequest of George and Bessie Jackson annually since 1956; we are in our 61st year. The bequest requires that we distribute annual earnings for two purposes, briefly stated as follows:

- (1) to advance understanding and acceptance of the First Amendment of the United States Constitution OR
- (2) to promote rational and peaceful means of conflict resolution.

<u>The Committee and its annual activities</u>: The Committee's annual cycle of activities extends from January to May. We...

- learn our annual giving limit from the UUAA Investments Committee (\$28,600 for 2017);
- solicit proposals by distributing a Request for Proposals to local, regional, national and even international organizations, using our contacts and the UUAA website;
- receive proposals by our deadline;
- analyze and discuss the proposals, then decide on grants. For the 2017 annual cycle, this occurred in May; we received 12 proposals and made 10 grants. In 2016 we received 12 proposals and made 10 grants totaling \$28,200;
- send decision letters to all applicants, enclosing checks as appropriate (completed for the 2017 in May).

Membership: The Committee's unique membership consists of six UUAA members plus two members appointed by the Ann Arbor Friends Meeting (AAFM). The 2017 UUAA Committee members are Roberta Allen, Kyla Boyse (co-chair), Cesilie Cordovilla, Akin Oni-Orrison, Phil Tuchinsky (co-chair) and Kate Warner. AAFM appointed Thomas Taylor and Art Wolfe.

<u>2016 Award Recipients</u>: We congratulate last year's (2016) grant recipients:

American Civil Liberties Union of Michigan Citizens United for Rehabilitation Of Errants (Michigan Chapter, MI-CURE) with American Friends Service Committee Ann Arbor Center for Independent Living National Committee Against Censorship Michigan United The Dispute Resolution Center, for the restorative justice program at Ann Arbor Skyline High School Interfaith Council for Peace and Justice Prison Creative Arts Program (PCAP) UM-Dearborn College Courses at Women's Huron Valley Correctional Facility Washtenaw Interfaith Coalition for Immigrant Rights (WICIR) TEAM Program

2017 Award Recipients: We also congratulate our most recent (2017) grant recipients:

American Civil Liberties Union of Michigan Citizens United for Rehabilitation Of Errants (Michigan Chapter, MI-CURE) with American Friends Service Committee The Right to Write (Groundcover News-related project) Friends Committee for National Legislation Michigan United The Dispute Resolution Center, for the restorative justice program at Ann Arbor Skyline High School Interfaith Council for Peace and Justice Prison Creative Arts Program (PCAP) UM-Dearborn College Courses at Women's Huron Valley Correctional Facility Washtenaw Interfaith Coalition for Immigrant Rights (WICIR) TEAM P rogram

Respectfully submitted,

Kyla Boyse and Phil Tuchinsky, co-chairs, UUAA Jackson Social Welfare Fund Committee