## **UUAA Jackson Social Welfare Fund Committee**

## 2020 Annual Report

This report covers activities of the UUAA Jackson Social Welfare Fund Committee ("Committee") for the funding cycle January to May 2020.

<u>Mission</u>: The Committee serves to implement the 1955 bequest of George and Bessie Jackson, which requires distributing annual earnings for two purposes:

- to advance understanding and acceptance of the First Amendment of the United States Constitution, and/or
- to promote rational and peaceful means of conflict resolution, both internationally and domestically.

Annual Activities: Each funding cycle, we:

- learn our annual giving limit from the UUAA Investments Committee (\$30,500 for 2020);
- solicit proposals by distributing a Request for Proposals to organizations, using our contacts and the UUAA website;
- receive proposals by our deadline;
- evaluate and discuss the proposals, then decide on grants. For the 2020 annual cycle, this occurred in April via Zoom; we received 12 proposals and made 12 grants;
- send decision letters to all applicants, enclosing checks as appropriate (to be completed for the 2020 funding cycle in May).

**Membership**: Our unique membership consists of six UUAA members plus two members appointed by the Ann Arbor Friends Meeting (AAFM). The 2020 UUAA members are Roberta Allen, Kyla Boyse (co-chair), Marina Brown, Christine Pellar-Kosbar (co-chair), Joe Libin, and Kate Warner. AAFM appointed Mark Hoover and Shirley Wolfe.

## 2020 Award Recipients:

- Americans United for Separation of Church and State
- Ann Arbor Center for Independent Living
- Defending Rights and Dissent
- Friends Peace Teams
- Interfaith Council for Peace and Justice
- Michigan Center for Youth Justice
- Michigan United
- Prison Creative Arts Program (PCAP)
- Safe and Just Michigan
- Therapeutic Writing Workshops for Veterans
- Visions: "Warrior Lawyers"
- Washtenaw Interfaith Coalition for Immigrant Rights (WICIR) Teen Group

<u>Values:</u> The Committee meets UUAA core values through the missions of the projects we fund and our democratic decision-making process.

Respectfully submitted, Kyla Boyse and Chris Pellar-Kosbar, co-chairs