## Restorative Justice UUAA Annual Report 2021- 2022

Restorative Justice UUAA (RJUUAA) has over 20 members from our congregation. We meet every 4<sup>th</sup> Wednesday of the month.

## Highlights of 2021-22:

- Continued support for the women at the Huron Valley Correctional Facility (WHV). Participated in demonstrations due to poor conditions at WHV, was closed to volunteers due to Covid.
- Supported several returning citizens by raising funds and dispersing monies to support their reentry.
- Forums:
  - Danny Jones, returning citizen, shared his personal story, his journey while in prison and coming out of prison
  - January presentation on "What is Restorative Justice?" plus a role play demonstrating how RJ could work with a crime.
  - April co-sponsored with Dispute Resolution Center (DRC), Friends of Restorative Justice (FORJ), MI-Cemi, Michigan Youth Justice Council discussion with Seema Gajwani, Special Council for Restorative Justice, Washington, D.C's Attorney General's Office.
  - April showed film Warrior Lawyers, Defenders of Sacred Justice plus a panel discussion with the producer/director, and two native Judges (over 75 attended). Co-sponsored with MUUSJN, MI-Cemi, Detroit Justice Center and FORJ.
  - May in-person trauma workshop with social worker, Becca Pickus, cosponsored with Immigration Action group.
- Renewed institutional membership with National Association of Community and Restorative Justice. Will attend their national conference in Chicago, July 7-9. RJUUAA sponsoring a panel presentation entitled, Strengthening Community through Restorative Practices. Presenters: Carolyn Madden, Priscilla Tait, Belinda Dulin (DRC)
- Building a UUAA Prison Ministry for returning citizens: resourcing local organizations, finding unmet needs, researching other UU groups' prison work, pursuing training for RJUUAA with Rev. Allison Furnam (UU Prison Ministry of Illinois).

RJUUAA is working with the Vision 20/50 teams of Anti-Racism/Anti-Oppression and Radical Welcome which fits with our mission.

Submitted: Co Chairs, Kathy Friedrichs and Carolyn Madden